top of page

"Learning To Say "Yes" In Relationships"


Saying "Yes" to Others

It is becoming known to others, connecting with others, and recognizing that we are all human and need social contact.

Some ways to say "yes" are: "I need your help--I am feeling anxious", "I want you to come with me to the police, I need your support", "I would like you to call me and check in on me to see if I'm doing okay".

Situations Where You Can Learn to Say "Yes"

  • Telling your friends what you think and feel

  • Asking someone out for coffee

  • Letting people get to know you

  • Accepting weak feelings that come up

  • Calling a crisis line/hotline

Saying "Yes" To Yourself

It is important for us to learn to say "yes" to ourselves. Think of yourself as a child that you need to take care of. Some ways to say "yes" to yourself are: "I need to reach out and ask for help when I need it", "I can reward myself in ways that are healthy rather than unhealthy (substances)", "I will take a break because I'm feeling exhausted".

The HOW

  • Share an activity: "Would you like to come for a hike with me this afternoon?"

  • Say how you feel: "I feel so scared. It is not easy for me to talk about this."

  • Focus on the other person: "Tell me about your struggles with cocaine."

  • Watch how others do it: Join a club of your choice and observe how people relate.

Afterthoughts

What are some ways that you would like to learn to say "yes" to others? What are some ways you would like to learn to say "yes" to yourself?

What is one "yes" that you will practice for a situation today? I have a guest in my place today, and I will say "yes" today to doing my daily routine without letting others disrupt it.

Leave a comment below and let me know what action you will take TODAY.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page