top of page

"Don't Look Back. Move Forward."


I found notes that were saved in my Iphone from months ago. They were so negative, I couldn't believe that it was me that wrote those words down.

"I'm a mean, nasty person.....", "Nobody hears me when I scream, nobody sees me when I cry..." etc.

I showed them to my friend. He suggested I delete them. Knowing that this was the way I used to be, but I got through it and it's in the past; I do not need to bring them back anymore.

There is beauty in the sadness, but if you are one of those people that are running towards success and your own dreams and goals, I suggest you try to stay positive as much as you can.

Delete all the reminders of your past negativity.

Positivity is one of the most important and crucial tools that will bring you out into recovery.

Do not look back. Every minute of your time is a minute that you will never get back. Use it to fuel your next minute, not to kill it.

Here are some of the practical ways you can practice moving forward.

1. Delete/throw away negative notes on paper or on your phone, laptop, tablet...

2. Eliminate the abuser or other negative people from your life

3. Give/throw away items that remind you of the abuser or the abuse

When I got out of my abusive home, I either gave away or threw away all the things that reminded me of home. My blankets, photos, journals...

4. Delete from facebook the people that remind you of abuse.

Anybody that was involved in your trauma has no right to stay in your life even if it is online.

5. Throw away thoughts about the abuse

Throw them away. When I get reminded of the abuse, I tend to get caught up in the thoughts about and around it. A tool that really works is visualizing a stop sign and putting your hand out, saying, "STOP!"

Afterwords...

Every minute is a gift, and you deserve to be present. The present is called "present" for a reason.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page