top of page

"Mine is Not That Bad"


I Never Thought My Case Was That Bad

It's been a year since I was taken to the police station to report my dad's abuse. My advocate, after hearing me talk about the abuse, said, "Trust me, I've heard of all kinds of abuse, but your case is very severe."

My response was, "REALLY?".

I never thought my case was severe. Rather, I had been afraid that I may be "overreacting" to be getting out to get help, and afraid that I won't be able to get help because my case isn't serious enough.

Nobody Thinks Their Case Is Bad. Even The Worst Ones.

When I reacted as such, she told me that most abuse victims tend to say, "Mine's not that bad."

One of her clients had asked for help, and when told that resources were running out, she said, "That's okay. Mine's not that bad." And refused to get help. Later, the advocate learned that her case was one of the worst scenarios she has ever heard of.

You Won't Be Overreacting When You Overreact

Get rid of the saying, "Mine's not that bad." Overreact to it as much as you can because that's the way you should be reacting!

It does not matter whether the abuse happened "only" once or many times. It does not matter whether you think that it is your fault or it is their fault.

What matters is YOU. YOU deserve the help that you need. If you had been abused, you probably don't know how much help you deserve. You'll be surprised when you see other people react to your story. Just remember that you need much more help than you think, and your case is much more severe than you think. Plus, you are much more important than you think and you deserve much more than you think.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page