top of page

"Above All, to Thine Own Self Be True"


Being true to myself has took me to AMAZING places.

I wanted to be a singer, while my parents insisted that I become a nurse so that I am guaranteed good money. I did not want to pursue a profession for the money. I needed something meaningful. I was intractable, and they relented. I left home for music college, which was 650km away from home. And I never went back.

I CANNOT imagine where I'd be at if I listened to my parents and ignored my own voice. I don't think that I would have gone to get help for my post child abuse mental illnesses. I would be bitter, sad, and depressed about having to live a life making a living. I'd be living in my dad's house and continued to be abused. Plus, because of my illnesses, I do not think that I would have been able to handle the courseload.

I DO NOT REGRET FOR ONE SECOND following my own dreams.

On the other hand, when I was not listening to my intuition and instead was listening to others, I have seen disasters happen.

I was living with an "unofficial" foster mom last year. I was scared of her, and I didn't want to be with her. I thought that she is too unstable to take care of a hurt child. But SHE turned it on me, and would manipulate me to think that she was perfectly fine and I was interpreting everything wrong because of my mental illness. Even my counselor did not realize she was unstable, and she worked hard to correct my "interpretations".

I finally got out of her house 7 months later. Yesterday, I was reading my journal entries I had written while I was there. The events clearly suggest that she was unstable and abusive. My counselor now tells me that she was passive aggressive and unstable.

If I had listened to my intuition and kept my ground, I could have saved myself from months of emotional trauma. Because I did not, I now need to deal with emotional hurt and nightmares that resulted from this relationship.

That being said, please remember, above all, to thine own self be true.

Here are 4 tips that you must remember!

1. Believe In Your Dreams

When everybody else says no, you say yes. Believe in your yes. Great people that achieved their goals have one thing in common: they were all laughed at at one point.

2. Say What You're Actually Thinking

You may not become the most popular person in the room, but you will attract the people that you need.

3. Trust Your Gut Intuition

If somebody in your life makes you go, "hm....", then there is a reason. It does not matter what the other people say. Listen to that intuition, and just leave.

4. Listen to Your Needs and Wants

Simply put, do as you want in the smallest things.

If you are feeling anxious and you don't want to keep carrying on the conversation with a person, then don't. If you feel like you want to cry, then cry. If you feel you want to give something new a try, then go ahead.

Your emotions and behaviour reflects your needs and wants. Listen to yourself as you would listen to others!! You are your most important person.

Afterthoughts...

People will try to help you. People will give you advice. However, they ARE NOT you!! They DO NOT know your whole story. You are the only one that can understand your situation and what you really need. Listen to your inner voice!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page