top of page

"My Experience: Handling Distress and Anxiety"


My Situation

It has been 3 days since I moved into my new apartment from the psychosocial rehab. I no longer have staffs and nurses taking care of me 24/7.

Yesterday, while sitting at a table, I started getting extremely distressed. I was anxious about "being here alone, and being stuck". I haven't been attending school nor working because of my healing process. I have had a goal of moving to Toronto since last summer. And I was sitting here thinking, "I'm STILL here. I need to go. Oh my gosh. What if I can't do it?".

I still do not know if it was the thought that made me feel this way, or I had been triggered by something else, or it was a habitual body reaction to something.

(Finding out the trigger is going to be the next thing I work on!)

What I Did To Cope

I didn't feel satisfied even after the talk with the caring therapist, and I hung up thinking, "I need an actual friend, not someone that doesn't even really care."

I'm usually not this negative. I did not choose these thoughts, they were so automatic that it makes me think the resulted feelings came prior to the thought.

Thankfully, I recalled skills that I learned from Dialectical Behavioural Therapy. (DBT)

First I took some deep breaths.

I started telling myself, "I can handle this. I've been through this before." and distracting myself with an activity (watching a movie).

Afterthoughts...

I remember it as being extremely hard to completely get out of that "mood".

But what I'm noticing is that it has become much easier than it used to be. I am progressing, and I'm proud of that.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page